rewardcuriosity

Good Morning … From Italy!

Good Morning all the way from Italy!

Is it too soon to say I’m already in love? Maybe love at first site does exist?

So much has happened in only a few short days, and I can only imagine what is to come next. I’ve always had an interest in culture (which is evident in my Japanese studies) and living in a town that is so untouched by tourists is truly eye-opening. Some things in Prato are confusing, like ordering drinks, where you first pay for what you want and then take the receipt over to the bar to get your purchase.

On my first day I met 2 pugs (the fact that there are pugs in Italy make me love this country even more… I did scare the Italian man with my squeal I make when I see a pug) and discovered where I will be studying, which is on PUGliesi street. That’s right PUG st. The University facilities are amazing and even include and outdoor terrace! This weekend we will be using the terrace to watch the medieval parade which I’m sure will involve a lot of bread and wine.

I have also made some Italian friends! The first is a Chinese Italian named Valerio and he was kind enough to take us to dinner the other night. From the exterior I was not so sure, there were no people and it was quiet, but in the courtyard inside it was lit with tea lights. We were given exceptional service who which included free strawberry vodka shots with the waiters and chefs. Something I have noticed here is that the bar tenders are more than happy to do shots with you. My other Italian friend is Fabio (lets just he is Fabiosso). Just your typical beautiful Italian that served us at a bar last night who has offered to show us around Florence and even take us to a party in Pistoia next week.

Apart from beginning my journey with such a rich cultural experience in Prato we have also traveled around to Florence and Sienna. People had really talked up Florence, and I was expecting a lot, but was disappointed. The city is over-run by tourists snapping photos left right and centre, causing the city to loose its beautiful authenticity. Maybe I am comparing it to much to Prato? Florence is also so expensive! 5 Euro for a small Gelato or 1.7 Euro in Prato … hmmm. I think I need to explore Florence a bit, find some places that are not so A) expensive and B) touristy.

Thats it for now…

20130905-140329.jpg

20130905-140415.jpg

20130905-140452.jpg

20130905-140522.jpg

20130905-140541.jpg

This entry was published on September 5, 2013 at 12:05. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a comment